If you have forgotten your iPhone’s passcode, you have limited options. It is a security feature in the iPhone that prevents unauthorized access if you enter this six-digit passcode incorrectly six times in a row.
It is imperative that if you enter incorrect passcodes and your phone becomes disabled, you reset it and restore it.
What happens if your iPhone is disabled?
When your iPhone is disabled, you can only erase and factory reset it. If you regularly back up your iPhone to the Cloud or iTunes, you should not encounter any problems.
In the event that such a situation does not exist, I’m sorry to inform you that you will lose all the information on your phone.
While you can regenerate purchased apps from iTunes or the App Store, any photos, videos, or any other data on your phone will be deleted if there are no backups.
It is always a good idea to regularly back up all your electronic devices, including your phone, in order to minimize the risk of losing all your information if your iPhone were to malfunction.
Several ways exist to restore your iPhone or reset it to factory defaults if it’s disabled.
Option 1 Recovering a disabled iPhone from an iTunes backup
If you want to get your iPhone back through your latest iTunes backup, here’s how to do it:
- Connect your phone to the computer on which you back up your data.
- Select the “Restore” button from iTunes Management.
- If prompted, sign in with your iPhone account information.
- Follow the directions provided.
- Click the restore button. Usually, the most recent backup is available. In any case, you can choose which of the backup files to use if there are several.
- If you select a backup, iTunes will restore all of your data and settings.
- Check your iPhone settings after the restoration is complete. The last item to sync is your music, and the time it takes will be determined by the amount of music stored on your device.
Option 2: Recovering a Disabled iPhone using iCloud
- The first step is to log in to iCloud using the account used for Find My iPhone.
- Then click “Find iPhone.”
- Click “Erase” to remove the data from your iPhone. You will receive a warning asking if you understand what you are doing.
- If you accept, your iPhone’s data will be deleted.
- Start setting up the phone as if it were brand new.
- The backup can be restored from iCloud once the initial setup is complete.
- By backing up your phone to iCloud, you can restore it back to its previous state.
- Make sure you make regular backups of your phone.
Option 3: Erasing iPhone data via Recovery Mode
- The first step is to turn off your phone and connect it to your computer.
- A hard reset can be performed by pressing the sleep/wake button and the Home button simultaneously.
- When the buttons are held down for a few seconds, the “Connect to iTunes” screen will appear.
- You can restore your phone’s data by clicking “Restore” from the iTunes screen on your computer.
When you remove all the data from the iPhone, you’ll have to set it up from scratch, unless you’ve backed it up. But if you had a backup, you wouldn’t need Recovery Mode. Now that you have a brand new iPhone, you can do whatever you want with it.
Moreover, you can retrieve all of your previous purchases from iTunes and the iTunes store. Depending on the number of applications on your phone and the speed of your connection, this may take some time.