How to Turn Off Last Seen on WhatsApp [2022 Updated iPhone & Android]

Thousands of WhatsApp users are undoubtedly looking for a way to disable “Last Seen” on the app. This is because WhatsApp is one of our favorite messaging apps on the market right now.

 WhatsApp appears to be the greatest app for combining the comfort of texting with the ease of texting outside of iMessage for combining the comfort of texting with the ease of texting. It includes several useful features, including the ability to read receipts and type indicators.

WhatsApp was the first of its kind when it started in 2009. Skype is the greatest option when it comes to voice and video communication. On the other hand, Skype was originally built for PCs and has only lately made its way to smartphones and tablets.

WhatsApp retained the leading despite the emergence of Viber, Kik, and other mobile messaging apps in the following years.

What is WhatsApp’s “Last Seen” feature?

As the name suggests, WhatsApp’s “Last Seen” feature shows the user’s most recent activity timestamp. The Last Seen feature in the Facebook-owned messaging software (now known as Meta) can be customized to suit the user’s preferences. You can choose from three different setup options: everyone, my contacts, or no one. Previously, the app had set the default setting to “Everyone.

What’s the point of hiding Whatsapp’s most recent location?

All of their efforts are aimed at ensuring the users’ privacy and security. Some WhatsApp users want to hide their last seen and online presence to make it more difficult for people they don’t know and haven’t talked with to see them. You may continue to share with the individuals and businesses you already know and for whom you have messages in the same way you always have.

WhatsApp’s most recent update

WhatsApp will begin disguising a user’s last saw timestamp from users who have not added the person to their contact list as part of an effort to improve its privacy features. In effect, this means that if a stranger or an unknown number sends you a WhatsApp message, they won’t be able to see when you last used the app.

Users will now have the option of having disappearing messages switched on by default in all new discussions. Any new one-on-one discussions that you or another person initiate will be scheduled to expire after the period you specify when you enable this option.

WhatsApp has added a new option when creating a group conversation that allows users to choose whether or not to activate the feature for any of their newly created groups. The addition of these new capabilities has made no changes or deletions to your existing discussions.

Shortly, WhatsApp will provide more time durations for disappearing messages. Users can pick between 24 hours, seven days, or 90 days of conversation in WhatsApp’s auto-delete options. To enable any of the options listed above, go to Privacy settings in the WhatsApp mobile app and then touch on “Default Message Timer.”

How to disable WhatsApp’s last seen feature: a step-by-step guide

There isn’t much of a difference between how iPhone users and Android users do things.

How to disable WhatsApp’s “last seen” feature on iPhones

  1. Select Settings from the lower-left corner of WhatsApp.

      2. Select “Account” from the drop-down menu.

      3. Select “Privacy” from the drop-down menu.

      4. Select the “Last Seen” option.

Finally, from the drop-down menu, select an alternative. Depending on your preferences, you can share your “Last Seen” status with the entire world, simply your contacts, or no one at all.

From now on, only those you choose will be able to see your “Last Seen” status. It’s important to remember that these changes go into effect right now.

On Android phones, how to disable “last seen” in WhatApps

  1. To access the menu, click the three vertical dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  2. Select “Settings” and then “Account Settings” to get to the “Account” area.
  3. From the drop-down menu, choose “Privacy.”
  4. Select “Last seen” and “Nobody” if you want to completely hide your online status. If you want your contacts to be aware of your online status, choose “My Contacts.

What is the best way to hide WhatsApp’s last seen on the browser version?

If you’re on a computer, you’re probably using the WhatsApp Web version of the program. This version, unlike the smartphone, does not allow fine-tuning of the online status via the settings page. You’ll need to use browser extensions for this. If you use Chrome as your browser, you can utilize two separate plugins. Simply follow the methods described below.

  • Click “Add to Chrome” on the “WAIncognito” extension in the Google Chrome Web Store.
  • After you’ve installed the extension, you’ll be able to use WhatsApp without being viewed online.
  • Tap on the extension’s settings to make adjustments. If you don’t want your online status to be visible, check the box next to “Don’t send Last Seen updates.”

Another option is to install WA Web Plus, which is a WordPress plugin. Simply download the plugin for your Chrome browser, log in to WhatsApp Web as usual, and follow the steps below:

  • Select the WA Web Plus plugin while the WhatsApp Web is open.
  • To keep your contacts in the dark about your online activities, tick the “Hide online” checkbox.
  • Please refresh the WhatsApp Web application if the changes do not take effect right away.

Final Thoughts

The last time you used WhatsApp will be displayed in the conversation window, according to WhatsApp’s default settings. The app was last used at 8:45 p.m., for example. As a result, everyone who contacts you will be able to see the date and time you last opened the app. Unless you’re online right now, in which case your status will display “online.”

Even if you turn off the last seen option, there’s no way to hide your online activity whether you’re online or typing. However, if you want to, you can disable the display of your last seen time to your contacts temporarily or permanently.

Six Times An Hour
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general