iPhone Help: Can You Text Someone You Blocked?

Let’s pretend you’ve recently had a horrible split and have banned your ex on your iPhone as a result of a major squabble.

(Hey, we’ve all been through at least one of these, so don’t hold it against us!) You sit there thinking about all the things you should’ve, could’ve, and would’ve said to them before you cut them off.

Now that your heart isn’t as swollen with feelings, all of these ideas are racing around within your mind.

You feel compelled to reach out and give your last words.

Is it possible to text your ex without having to unblock them? It’s not like you’re expecting a response from them – after all, haven’t they spoken enough?

Can You Text Someone You’ve Blocked on Your iPhone?

You can send a text to someone you’ve banned on your iPhone, but you won’t get a response. Unblocking them is the only way to obtain a response from them. Only incoming calls and texts are blocked, not outgoing calls and texts.

On both iPhones and Androids, blocking works as follows: You can prevent someone from sending you SMS or phoning you, but you can still call and text them.

However, until you unblock them, don’t anticipate a response.

You may also communicate with them using third-party messaging applications, which are unaffected by the fact that you have blocked someone’s number on your iPhone.

If you wish to block someone on a third-party app, you must do it within that app.

Let’s go through what occurs when you block someone, what happens when they block you, and what you can still do in terms of communication.

Can you text someone after you block their number?

You may still SMS someone whose number has been banned on your iPhone.

You won’t be able to receive any of their incoming text messages or phone calls if you block someone’s number.

Unless you inform them, they won’t know you’ve blocked them – and that’s probably good with you anyhow.

However, if you still need to communicate your last ideas, text them because blocking only affects inbound calls and texts, not outward ones.

So go ahead and tell them what’s on your mind.

Is it true that banning someone’s number on my iPhone has an impact on third-party apps?

Simply launch your Message app and type the message you’d like to send.

When you’re ready, tap ‘Send,’ and your iPhone will notify you when it’s been delivered and read.

Unless you unblock the person to whom you’re sending the message, you won’t be able to see a response.

Blocking someone’s phone number on your iPhone does not affect third-party apps (such as WhatsApp).

If you wish to ban someone you have as a contact on a third-party communication app, you must do it through the app itself, not only on your iPhone.

You and that individual will still be able to communicate through that third-party app if that is the case.

Is it true that banning someone’s number on my iPhone has an impact on third-party apps?

If you block someone’s phone number on your iPhone, it does not affect third-party apps (such as WhatsApp).

If you wish to block someone you have as a contact on a third-party communication app, you must do it through the app, not only on your iPhone.

You and that individual will still be able to communicate through that third-party app if you don’t use it.

What happens if you put someone on your iPhone’s blocklist?

They won’t be able to send you a message or phone you if you block them on your iPhone.

They might not even notice ‘Delivered’ in their Messages app notes.

It’s conceivable, though, that they’ll notice your conversation bubble change from iMessage blue to SMS green.

What about you? You will not be able to see anything.

Texts from senders who are not in your Contacts list can also be filtered out.

You’ll still get their communications, but they’ll be delivered to an ‘Unknown Senders’ mailbox rather than your primary inbox.

Furthermore, you will not receive alerts when these texts arrive, so you will not be aware that they are there unless you specifically check that mailbox.

On my iPhone, how can I block someone?

On your iPhone, blocking someone is a straightforward operation.

Simply open the chat whenever you wish to block a contact’s number in Messages.

Then, on the top of the screen, tap on that contact’s name, number, or image, and select the I information icon.

After that, press on the name or number once again, then scroll down to the bottom of the contact screen and tap on ‘Block this Caller.’

On my iPhone, how can I unblock someone?

When you go to Settings > Phone (or Messages or FaceTime) on your iPhone, you may manage your banned contacts.

You may opt to unblock a blocked number whenever you wish to resume receiving calls, alerts, and messages from it.

Any call you get from a banned number will go straight to voicemail, and you will not be notified.

To modify this so that you can view the notification, unblock that caller.

Closing Thoughts

Apple makes blocking undesirable contacts simple.

You can text someone you’ve blocked if you feel compelled to do so.

If they haven’t blocked you, that individual will get the message.

You won’t be able to see any kind of response from them unless you take the easy step of unblocking them.

Six Times An Hour
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general